Today my post will include little thoughts put together in a bunch that at first may seem to you as if they have no connection to one another but after a while you may see the point of this post. I want to say from the beginning something that I have said it before too on other posts that when I decide to write something or about something it is not done on an impulse. It is a thought that I had been chowing for a long time. I consider my ideas like gums with different flavors. And after chowing and chowing for a long time, after the flavor is all understood and only when I feel that urge of spitting that gum/idea out I grab my computer and start writing. I start writing without knowing what I will say next, not because I am not aware of what I am writing, but I do not want to force my ideas so they will seem very manipulative. I know the end result of what I want to say but the beginning and the middle will take their forms on their own as I am writing.

And so, I like to start this post by saying that I totally understand why Plato was so furious with artists and actors and writers, and he proposed to abolish all forms of art at some point in his life, with the argument that art is deceiving. I totally support his idea that any form of art is only an expression of perfect ideas in our mind, which are always better than forms in which these ideas are expressed. Plato could actually explain why the idea is always better than the work of art. He said that’s because the first original idea that popped in our mind it was not our own idea. That pure and perfect idea comes from God’s consciousness, and so, when we try to express that perfect idea we make it imperfect, we almost ruin it, by adding our own understanding or what we want others to understand from our point of view.

Plato was right, because we must admit that it is hard to shut down your own misconceptions and beliefs when you write something or produce something for the audience. Hence, I too am afraid that whenever I write a post I may indeed reflect my own misunderstandings. Poetry, is the easiest one to be misleading the reader and misinterpret as what the author wanted to say. When I write my poems for example, I create a story in my mind, but that story is not all fake. That story is taken from reality somewhere but it is exaggerated or changed in order to emphasize one idea or one emotion more than others. However, when I write my posts here, I try to stay focused on the knowledge not on the feelings, emotions, or my misunderstandings, even though I must acknowledge their existence.

Knowing that my ideas and my opinions on matters will never be as perfect as the first thought that popped into my mind I will humbly say, please be patient with me and everyone else, and be patient with yourself too, knowing that none of us is able to express the whole truth with that accuracy and purity that it was shown to us at the first moment we became aware of that concept/idea inside our mind. If we accept what Plato said that no idea that is expressed in the form of art can be as good as the original idea then we will be more careful when we debate and when we express our opinions, when we hold the belief that we are always absolutely right. It is better to accept from the beginning that what you are trying to say and share with others is your opinion, or it comes from your point of view, and so on and so on. Using these phrases will not minimize the value of ideas that you share, will not make you vulnerable to criticism either. In contrary, it makes you powerful, because at that moment of humbleness your higher consciousness is reaching other people’s higher consciousness and here is why. At that moment, when you put yourself into a lower position from the one that your ego wants you to, you are allowing yourself to be seen as a carrier of partial knowledge. At that moment, other pieces of this knowledge carried by other higher consciousness of other people will recognize one another. Instead of shutting you down for not being complete, these other higher consciousness will recognize in you the pieces of the puzzle that they were missing in their view to The Oneness. This is done only when you enter the game by saying I hold a piece of the puzzle, not when you say I hold all the pieces to the puzzle, I hold the whole truth. No that is not how you play the game and expect to win.

So, from this understanding I want to say that Plato was right about Art as a form of expressing not the truth but the deformed truth, which may not necessarily be a lie but it definitely is not the truth. Not being the truth and not being a lie then this leads us in the road of deception, because many of us will think, since this art, poem, movie, story, painting, is expressing something that I feel or experience too then I must embrace the whole thing as true. These people forget that they see in that piece of art only a part of what they feel, think, or experience in reality. So these people buy the whole idea by only seeing a part of it which is true to them. Some other people will dismiss the whole idea that art is trying to convey because they argue that this piece of art has parts that are not true to them. If there are parts that are not true then the whole idea must be a lie. These people represent two extreme points of views: Those who buy everything by matching only a part of the idea that is being conveyed with what they feel is true to them, and so they will absorb the whole idea that is being sold to them as true, while the other extreme group of people will dismiss the whole idea that art is conveying because it does not match every point of the truth that they know. They also forget that their truth is only partial.

At this point, after two extreme views are formed, a third point of view will emerge. That is idea of that group of people who neither dismiss nor agree. This group of people is indifferent to what is shared by art or they cannot see the truth in both extremes and that is why they dismiss both side, and so they continue their journey to finding the truth on their own. And as soon as the third group shows up, its opposite group, driven by the opposite of the thought of dismissing both sides, will arrive soon. The fourth group of people will accept both sides, both extremes. They accept that there are parts of the truth on the piece of art that is shared, they may also recognize the feelings that this piece of art triggers or induces in them. Hence they do not dismiss this piece of art, they enter the game. They accept the value of the piece or idea conveyed. Nevertheless, they do not buy the whole idea and so they will not be manipulated to continue on doing what the author of that art suggests to do. They will take the idea that art conveys, the idea that moved them, touched them, made them emotional, and then they will look inside themselves for answers as why that idea made them feel that way. They may create a story that will match the feelings and ideas but they will never accept the whole ideas as it is presented in the art. These people play their own game and this way they heal the emotions they felt during that play, song, or reading a poem or a novel, or watching a movie and so on. These people are not being fooled by the idea expressed in art, because they know that the truth, their truth, lies inside of them. Therefore, we can say that art is a form of healing the collective consciousness by taking the story and making another story out of it, that matches our own reality. Therefore, this group of people, use these feelings and emotions generated due to the external stimulus, the piece of art, in order to heal their own personal wounds inflicted by the collective consciousness.

In this regard we can say that duality is a natural way of living, but we can also see that threefold is too a natural way of living and also fourfold is nevertheless a natural way of living. Let’s take the concept of love for example. When we love there is nothing to doubt about; we feel love. There is no duality, there is only one feeling, love. However, as things change in life, circumstances change, people change, and so the feeling of love will also change. For one of the partners this love relationship may not be as exciting anymore. This partner tries to move on, move away from this relationship. The partner who is still holding on to the first idea of love will not accept the change and so this partner will resist this change. Because of this conflict of concepts, perspectives and feelings in both partners a new feeling will start taking place, instead of love they will feel hate.  However, hate is not quite the opposite of love. Hate means, “I still love you, why can I not have you? I hate that I cannot have you. I hate that your mind is somewhere else, when my mind and my heart is on you because I love you.” So hate can be the opposite of love but it is not very stable, because it is hate for as long as the other partner tries to move away but it will change into love if the partner will be convinced to stay. A third feeling is the opposite of love and that it indifference. When I am indifferent to my partner’s affection and exhibition of his love for me, I do not hate and I do not love. I am unmoved. Now you see that three feelings are quite normal, a natural way of living. But, as soon as the feeling of indifference appears, another feeling, opposite of it will also appear, and that is empathy. This fourth type of person will feel sorry but not feel love for his partner, nevertheless, he/she may decide to stay in that relationship, and sooner or later will become a victim of abuse.

So from the one comes the two, and then three and then four. Can we continue more? We could but the point is that for some people the two extreme views; that is all they see: With me or against me. For others, it is the three that they see, and some others it’s the four. For more illuminated minds they see beyond four, when they accept that everything we see or hear may hold part of the truth but not all of the truth. As so, they do not categorize things, they absorb, take new ideas in, they feel these ideas, they contradict these ideas, the chew these ideas on and on and on like a gum for a long time, and then they spit them back out by changing what they felt was wrong and accepting what felt right from their perspective. These group of people do not go around forcing themselves into the minds of others. They just share freely what makes sense to them, and they offer their knowledge to you without convincing you, so you have the option to take o leave it, depending on which group you belong, one, two, three or four; The choice is yours.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

