My plan tonight was to write the second part of the previous post on awareness and healing process, instead I find myself reading Apology of Socrates one of the greatest among Plato’s work, included in his book Six Great Dialogues. I just cannot help it but feel this urge to write at least two or three sentences from the very beginning of this speech and since I do not want to change any word for the fear I may diminish its beauty, I will rewrite it exactly as it is written in the book I am reading: “How have you felt, O men of Athens, at hearing the speeches of my accusers, I cannot tell; but I know that their persuasive words almost made me forget who I was:-such was the effect of them; and yet they have hardly spoken a word of truth….when they told you to be upon your guard, and not to let yourselves be deceived by the force of my eloquence. They ought to have been ashamed for saying this, because they were sure to be exposed as soon as I opened my lips and displayed my deficiency; they certainly did appear to be most shameless in saying this, unless by the force of eloquence they mean the force of truth; for then I do indeed admit that I am eloquent.”

Powerful, beautiful, unfortunate words of truth spoken by Socrates. Why unfortunate? Indeed unfortunate, because the same form of injustice existed among humans about 2500 years ago as it continues to exist today, then I might as well delete all my posts and give up on trying bringing some common sense through what I have learned from great minds during my studies. I do have these periods of up and down, where I give up on hoping that things may change among humans on what they call fair and unfair, justice and injustice, but then I come back again full force to say something which I can no longer hold inside myself. I know, I am not that important; there are others more important than me, higher in their positions and authority and definitely more sophisticated, articulated and with higher academic degrees than I am, however, what I share in my posts does not need a brain of a rocket scientists or a philosopher. I am saying very simple things that even my seven year old daughter can understand. Yet, many people out there get confused on simple concepts like justice, injustice, world piece even. How hard is that? World piece does not come by sending soldiers to fight wars in other countries. The act of violence itself defeats the purpose. Peace has nothing to do with violence and wars.

Then of course you will ask now, how do I expect peace to be obtained, if not by a strong hand and a strong country that governs the rest of the world, like the big brother in charge of his younger idiot brothers? If you ask me this question then I will answer you that I expect no peace for as long as there are minds like yours that rule this place. Peace comes from within. If you are in peace with yourself then you are in peace with the world around you. If you see everyone as your enemy and fear that your image or façade or power is at risk then you will always be in aggressive mode ready to attack and protect your territory or of what you entitle yourself to. So, If I expect the world to be in peace and experience peace in every corner of earth, that will be the day when we all put our weapons down and fear no one; fear no judgement, fear no enemy, fear no end of resources, fear nothing. Is that possible? Well, yes, it is how you educate yourself to think. If you think about hiding the truth because you fear that others will judge you, then fear will be your driver and that driver is blind and wild my friend. But if you always tell the truth and if in certain cases you are discrete but not lying or making up stories then you fear nothing, because whatever comes out in one moment or the other is what you have already said, and so no one can accuse you as a liar. In the worst case scenarios you will be accused as eloquent, dangerously eloquent, like Socrates was.

As I am doing further research on Narcissistic Personality Disorder, I have reached the point that unfortunately we encourage this Narcissistic attitude and even contribute on spreading this Narcissistic attitude like an epidemic, every time we complain about injustice in the world or in our personal life and then decide to take matters on our own hands and put justice based on what we call fair or unfair treatment. As such we are doing nothing good to bring peace, because all we are doing is feeding more anger and more injustice to the society. How is that? Well, think about what you call fair and unfair, justice and injustice. Based on your definitions obviously fair is when things go according to your plan and no one interrupts or prevents you from achieving your goals and plans. But based on someone else’s point of view your definition of fair and justice is wrong because you are taking let say what they thing belongs to them not to you. And here we go, the first conflict starts from the moment we define justice and injustice on our own terms. Now the truth of the matter is that we cannot do otherwise. We see the world from our perspective, we perceive the world with our own senses and we make decisions that will protect our own existence, therefore it is quite natural to define justice and fair from our individual point of view. But do not rush into conclusion, because even though we define justice and fairness in different ways, based on our points of views, yet, there is a common ground where we can all meet and understand one another despite the individual definitions of fairness. This common ground is emotions, human emotions. Yes, indeed as I said on my earlier posts, emotions are gold.

So how can we bring peace to the world by bringing emotions to the table? This is simple indeed. When you start your argument on certain injustice done to you, instead of point fingers and listing facts that support your judgment on unfairness and injustice executed by others, you can start by sharing your feelings first. For example, “I felt sad when you said this and that…Or I felt isolated…I felt hurt…I felt left alone, abandoned, I felt unloved.” In whichever way you want to express your feelings, make sure that these feelings do not come out as an accusation toward your opponent. This is what you need to avoid at any cost. So now you may ask: How can sharing your emotions first work? It works because emotions are those concepts that anyone can relate to and understands. Everyone knows how it feels when you are sad, or lonely, or feel jealous and betrayed. When the first thing opponent hears is emotions then opponent paints a different story of you from the cases when opponent hears the list of facts that you accuse him or her for injustice. When facts are brought forth first, then opponent will fight those facts with his own facts looking at things from his own angle of justice and injustice. So bring your emotions forward to make others understand your point of views and then share some of the facts and how you perceived the problem from your point of view because of those emotions. World peace comes from within, when we are not afraid to show our vulnerability and share our emotions first.Therefore, the key to world peace and peace within yourself is Emotional Intelligence. When we will understand EI we have eliminated injustice in the world, even though justice and injustice will still be seen from different angles.

One thought on “Emotional Intelligence, the key factor of peace

Leave a Reply

