caduceus

After checking my facebook’ announcements, to find out how my relatives in Albania were doing this early morning, I was caught into a big dilemma of what is morally right to say and what I believe is true. This dilemma derived from the fact that today my Albanian cousins are celebrating Orthodox Easter and I had just wished them “Gezuar Pashket!” which stands for Happy Easter in Albanian. They enthusiastically replied “Krishti u njall” to which I should reply with the same enthusiasm, “Po Krishti u ngjall.” This type of greeting announces and accepts the fact that Christ has died and is risen again. I was caught off guard for a moment. I did not know whether I should reply to them by saying “Yes Christ is risen” or pretend that I don’t know how to answer and since we are far apart, they can’t blame me for disrespecting them. I decided to pretend but deep down I felt like I had an obligation and desire to reply to them the right way. I questioned why I felt such obligation, after years of training myself to not fall victim of the pressure coming from traditions, norms and religions. I gave up following any particular religion years ago, and indeed I do not want to encourage more separation among my relatives some of which do not celebrate Easter. Above all, I do not want to line myself up with any organized religion at all because I find that my religion is to follow my heart and do good and mean well to my fellow humans. As such, if I reply “Krishti u ngjall” that means I accept their religion to be true, and I do not accept anything other than Jesus’ lessons. I am not into hocus pocus kind of thing, and my whole being is driven by logic, scientific laws and things that make sense. I could be wrong for all I know; one could die and be resurrected within certain amount of days. In fact this makes sense, because we indeed die a little each night when we fall into deep sleep. In my book “The Truth,” I explain about how I see death from a scientific perspective, accepting the facts that are well known by science. Therefore, there is nothing strange to me to accept that one can die and be revived again within the three days’ frame. However, accepting it publicly that Christ is risen, to people that do not understand science or have no idea why they believe that Christ is risen, to people that repeat phrases like this without knowing their meaning or at least to stop and think about what that means, I find it useless to do so. By saying to them that Christ is risen I am afraid I would encourage more ignorance. That is why I decided to not say what I really wanted to say, as it goes against of what I believe in, that people should reason before they do or say anything. When I see masses of people like this celebrating, I rejoice into their happiness but I do not plunge myself into their level of understanding. To do so is like telling a child do not grow up and keep believing that toys under the tree are delivered by Santa Claus.
On the other hand, I do believe that there is life after death and there is resurrection as a scientific process, but to explain why and how that is quite possible without using religion is impossible. Religion is a philosophic idea on its own which is needed as a stepping stone for restless minds that acquire more and more about death and life. However, if one is stuck in that stone than one needs to wake up. That stone is not the end of the journey. As such, I believe I made the right choice to pretend I did not know the answer to their greeting and instead start my day by drinking my morning coffee and picking up one of the books I have started to read already. I picked up Psychology and Religion by Carl Jung this morning. Often I read two or three books that cover the same or similar topic and books that are just fun to read. I love to alternate them during the day. It’s like watching series of shows and movies. Anyhow, the first page I started to read was where I had stopped my reading for this particular book days ago and the first thing I read was the following expression, “Naturam expellas furca tamen usque recurret!”  Jung has a habit of not translating any of the phrases in Latin. At first I was surprised as why he does that in all his books, but then I concluded that probably Jung assumed that whoever would be interested in reading his books must be well educated in Latin too. Or it could have been that often translations from Old Latin to other languages change the true meaning of the phrase. As such one must really know Latin to understand the true meaning of what is being said. Therefore, I do my best using google translation and trying to adjust what google translates with what makes sense word by word. I must confess that I have this ability to understand what one tries to communicate in whatever language by looking at the context of the situation or body language. In this case, while reading, I look at the context.
Using my special talent the expression, “Naturam expellas furca tamen usque recurret!” I translated it as “Nature is driven by separation and recurrences (reappearances, coming back).” How appropriate indeed, just when I needed an answer for my relatives. Just when I wanted to say something, but not in a religious way, right at that moment  I found the answer my question, which gave me some relief from my dilemma. If we look at this expression carefully, “Nature is driven by separation and recurrences” it makes sense to say that Jesus’ death and his resurrection are symbolic representation of nature’s own nature. Therefore it makes sense now that when people greet one another on Easter by saying, “Christ is risen” the other one replies by saying, “Yes Christ is risen,” because how can you not accept that? Opposing the fact that Christ is risen is to go against nature’s own drive. This expression that accepts nature’s own drive of separation and re-occurrences can be noticed and observed everywhere in nature, it is also written in our DNA too. Think about it: Separate and repeat, Separate and duplicate, and that’s how life goes on. This expression also accepts the fact that our souls are reincarnated into new human beings, because nature’s own nature is to separate and bring back what belongs here. Hence, death and life, death and resurrection, death and reincarnation is nature’s own drive and no one can doubt or stop this process. Hence Christ is risen my friend, Christ is risen.

Leave a Reply

