Ah Aesop, Aesop again… Dare I say that I grew up with his fables and that I admired them, and even used them in arguments with my opponents…. until now…

Here is another of his fabulous fables which I find it hard to believe that the moral of this story is what it is:

The Bat, the Birds and the Beasts

A great conflict was about to come off between the Birds and
the Beasts. When the two armies were collected together the Bat
hesitated which to join. The Birds that passed his perch said:
“Come with us”; but he said: “I am a Beast.” Later on, some
Beasts who were passing underneath him looked up and said: “Come
with us”; but he said: “I am a Bird.” Luckily at the last moment
peace was made, and no battle took place, so the Bat came to the
Birds and wished to join in the rejoicings, but they all turned
against him and he had to fly away. He then went to the Beasts,
but soon had to beat a retreat, or else they would have torn him
to pieces. “Ah,” said the Bat, “I see now,

Moral of the story: He that is neither one thing nor the other has no friends.

And now, here is why I find this conclusion wrong: Has it occurred to anyone that if it wasn’t for the bat that refused to join any of the armies the peace would not have been reached? Maybe peace was reached just because bat did not take any sides and so the balance in numbers was kept….Poor bat. Instead of refusing to make bat their friend, both armies of birds and beasts should rejoice in the fact that bat was always their friend when he/she refused to join the other side.

Moral of the story from my perspective, and who knows may be Aesop meant the same: The enemy of my enemy may not be my friend but the one who refused to become my enemy, definitely is my friend.

Leave a Reply

